Maker Class Update – Earth Day Project

gauntlet

Check out the prototype of a “gauntlet” made by a 7th grader. Version 2 will be made of recycled metal.

So far in Maker Class, Allendale Columbia School middle school students have been working on collaboration skills, completed a few creative design challenges, and started to design and repurpose desks to be used by classes in the new middle school space (aka The Scrum Room). I have been asking each student in class to reflect on their experiences and here a few random thoughts they have shared with me…

“Working in groups was very difficult because everyone had different opinions on everything.”

“I feel like this class is a new experience for me. I liked taking apart the tables because I’ve never taken furniture apart before.”

“What surprised me is how many talents other people have and how good they are in a group.”

“Sketching ideas before starting was new for me because every time I would work on a project, I would start without sketching an idea of what I would want it to look like. I liked doing this because if you sketch an idea, you already know how to start the project.”

After recess students will be working in small groups to create something using primarily recycled materials. This project will be displayed during the Earth Day celebration on 4/22 and possibly during Evening of the Arts. The project needs to be completed by no later than 4/21.

Leave a Reply

