Tech Tuesday 3.26.13

What is Pinterest?

Over the past few years visual pinboards have been developed to help people stay organized. Before virtual pinboards existed I would download images to folders on my desktop that I would promptly lose or forget about. I tried different naming conventions but I could never find a reference, visual, or video when I needed it most. Pinterest does not only help me stay organized but it is a social site. I can find links and resources from other teachers in my discipline, lessons, apps, and classroom tips. Edutopia even recently wrote an article on the benefits of Pinterest in education called, Pinterest for Teachers? There are other pinboard services out there that function similarly to Pinterest that I would recommend looking at before settling on one.

Check out some of our favorite educational resources from Pinterest below:

ISTE

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 4.51.51 PM

Edutopia

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 4.51.17 PM

ASCD

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 4.48.15 PM

Edudemic

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 4.52.13 PM

And now introducing the Allendale Columbia School Pinterest. Inspired by guest blogger Heather Lambie on Brendan Schneider’s blog, How I Used Pinterest to Create Our School’s Virtual, Viral Viewbook.

Screen Shot 2013-03-23 at 4.52.53 PM

10 thoughts on “Tech Tuesday 3.26.13

  1. I thought I was the only one with a Chuck Norris movie collection!

  2. This video was so funny. I love Pinterest! It’s probably important to note that all profiles are public. You can make “secret boards,” but you can’t control who follows you. Unless this has changed and I don’t know it…

  3. I use Pinterest and have both personal and professional boards. I look forward to checking out ACS’ Pinterest! Thanks so much Tony!

  4. Hi Tony,
    Great post and thanks for including Heather Lambie’s great post on my blog about Pinterest!
    Keep up the great work.
    Thanks,
    Brendan

  5. Pingback: Tech Tuesday 4.02.13 | AC Tech Tuesday

  6. Pingback: Pinterest In My PLN | TepTech

Leave a Reply

